Sketch Model Experimentation

In order to get a better idea of how my concept could work, I needed to work more 3-Dimensionally. I created some sketch models, using a combination of white and coloured paper to show the main structure vs. the movement lines between the space.

My aim, with the purple routes, is to illustrate the access for all throughout the entire structure, making it effectively border-less and accessible from all directions of the surrounding city.

Following making the sketch models and photographing them, I transferred them into Photoshop to allow me (seen above) to add people and added lines to represent the movement zones. This has helped me to explain my idea further, as well as enabling me to get a better understanding of it myself. I used a combination of white and coloured paper to show the main structure vs. the movement lines between the space.

I found that doing this exercise was really useful and valuable to my progression through to the later stages of the design project. I hope to take what I have learned from this and translate it into my concept design as I develop it.

I also experimented by drawing further 2D zone diagrams (featured image & seen below), expanding my evidence of investigating the different combinations and ways my concept can be configured. I feel that by mixing different types of media and working in both 2D and 3D helped to visualise my concept in a more realistic and feasible form. I really enjoy layering different styles of media and images to achieve a really original and unique outcome – something which I always strive to do, putting my own mark on all of the work I submit.

city-surrounding

Leave a Reply

